Home » word wide » How to watch all the Chucky movies in order: Every ‘Child’s Play’ and ‘Chucky’ movie in chronological order

How to watch all the Chucky movies in order: Every ‘Child’s Play’ and ‘Chucky’ movie in chronological order

Chuckythe doll is one of the most iconic horror villains ever created, and he is instantly recognizable to even non-horror fans. The face of the legendary and long-running Child’s Play franchise is frequently put alongside other slasher luminaries like Freddy Krueger, Michael Myers, and Jason Voorhees. The murderous lump of plastic has taken the starring role in eight movies and a popular TV series, making him one of American horror’s most prolific villains.

But how do you watch Chucky’s antics in order? Here is everything you need to know.

What are the Child’s Play and Chucky films about?
The first Child’s Play film arrived in cinemas in 1988. In this film, viewers are introduced to notorious serial killer Charles Lee Ray, a man trying to evade being captured by Detective Mike Norris. When Norris fatally wounds Ray, things look bleak for the killer, but at the last moment, he performs a voodoo chant that transfers his soul into a nearby Good Guy doll.

Once the dust settles, this doll, now calling itself Chucky, ends up owned by Andy Barclay. However, when Charles starts to cause chaos, the boy and his mother must fight to stop him. This becomes worse when Charles learns that his doll form is unstable and the only way to guarantee his future is to transfer his soul into the body of the first person he told about his true identity, the young Andy Barclay. Despite Andy’s attempts to get rid of the doll, Chucky keeps getting resurrected, and thus the pair’s game of cat and mouse continues in both Child’s Play 2 and Child’s Play 3.

However, starting with the fourth film in the franchise, Bride of Chucky, things go in a more campy, horror-comedy direction. Bride sees Chucky put his ex-girlfriend Tiffany’s soul into a bride doll, forcing the pair to go on a road trip to try and find an amulet that will return both of them to their human forms. Seed of Chucky changes the format again, with Tiffany and Chucky’s son Gentle Glen, bringing his parents back to life so that he can get to know them better, only for the pair to go on a rampage around Hollywood.

After this, the franchise returned to its roots a little, with Curse of Chucky and Cult of Chucky seeing the original killer doll come back to brutally settle his old scores, though these films were still sillier than the initial Child’s Play installments.

How to watchthe Chucky franchise in order
The watch order for the Chucky franchise is tricky as due to the franchise adopting a new naming format mid-way through its original cinematic line, it can be hard to remember what order the films were released in. However, unlike a lot of large horror franchises, the Chucky films have a pretty simple chronology, with the release order also being chronological order, with a few minor exceptions.


Check Also

Meghan and Harry’s friend showers praises on Queen Elizabeth

Prince Harry and Meghan Markle were doomed from the very beginning, said the couple’s friend …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *